TMA_ EDGA(2).jpg

The novel that started the Emma Djan series, THE MISSING AMERICAN, was received with wide acclaim by literary critics and mystery readers alike. The novel was a 2021 Edgar Allan Poe Award nomination for the year 2020; and a 2021 Shamus Award winner.

Gordon Tilson, an American widower whose Ghanaian wife died of cancer, falls in love with a woman called Helena whom he meets online. Deeply in love, Gordon travels to Ghana to be with Helena in person. It’s not long before he realizes he has been thoroughly scammed. Urged by a friend Casper back in Washington, DC, Gordon stays in Ghana to hunt for the culprit. Gordon subsequently disappears. As Emma Djan, the rookie in a private investigator agency, delves into the mystery, she discovers a shocking network in a world of internet fraud that goes right to the top. 

No upcoming events at the moment

Emma Djan Investigations series is also available in the UK and Commonwealth!

UK Edition

Featured Books
IMG_7040_Facetune_12-12-2020-16-17-58 (1

About Kwei Quartey

Based in Pasadena, California, Kwei Jones Quartey, M.D. is a writer of African crime fiction. He practiced medicine for more than 20 years while simultaneously working as a writer, balancing the two careers by writing early mornings before clinic. However, in 2018, he made the decision to retire from medicine to write full time.

WIFE OF THE GODS, the acclaimed debut in his Inspector Darko Dawson series, was on the Los Angeles Times Bestseller List in 2009. A year later, G.O.G. National Book Club awarded him the title of Best Male Author.


In 2020, the Emma Djan Investigations series debuted with the highly praised THE MISSING AMERICAN, followed by the sequel, SLEEP WELL, MY LADY.

In a starred review, Jane Murphy of Publishers Weekly says, " . . . Quartey, also the author of the Darko Dawson series, is one of the strong voices in the current wave of African crime fiction, which provides relevant insight into a continent anxious to maintain its unique identity yet thrive in the twenty-first-century world." 

The son of a Black American mother and Ghanaian father, Dr. Quartey is a Ghanaian-American writer who grew up in both Ghana and the United States. His passion is to promote African American writers, African literature, 

African bestseller fiction, and African mystery writers.


Dr. Quartey feels that African mysteries (sometimes called "Sunshine Noir") deserve a seat at the table of international thrillers and mysteries. His novels are the only contemporary West African mystery series issued by major international publishers such as Penguin-Random House and Soho Press in the United States, and Allison & Busby in the United Kingdom.

Welcome to Please explore the site and take a look at the books offered and the blog section.

In The Press